How to Cancel an Apple Music Subscription

It's easy to unsubscribe when you're done

Apple Music screenshot

If you've tried the Apple Music streaming service and decided that it's not for you, cancel your subscription during your three-month trial, or before your paid subscription renews. Because your subscription is tied to your Apple ID, canceling it in one location cancels it in all locations that use your Apple ID. So, no matter what device you used to sign up, if you end your subscription on iPhone, you're also canceling in iTunes and on your iPad, and vice versa.

Instructions in this article apply to iOS 12.

Cancel Apple Music on iPhone

Apple continues to refine the Music app. In iOS 12, you're free to modify your subscription within the app. In prior versions of iOS, the app offered a link that took you to a separate settings menu.

To cancel Apple Music on iOS 12:

  1. Go to the For You section, then tap your photo (or the icon with your initials).

  2. Tap Manage Subscription.

  3. In the Options list, select an alternative subscription, then tap Done. If you're in a three-month trial period, tap Cancel Free Trial.

    Apple Music's For You screen
Apple Music account screen
Apple Music edit-subscription screen

What Happens to Saved Songs After Cancellation?

While using Apple Music, you may have saved songs for offline playback. In this situation, save the songs in your iTunes or iOS Music library so you can listen to the songs without streaming and using your monthly data plan.

You only have access to those songs, however, while you maintain an active subscription. If you cancel your Apple Music plan, you won't be able to listen to those saved songs.

A Note About Cancellation and Billing

After you follow the steps above, your subscription is canceled, however, your access to Apple Music doesn't immediately end at that point. Because subscriptions are charged at the beginning of each month, you'll have access until the end of the current month.

For example, if you cancel your subscription on July 2, you can use the service until the end of July. On Aug. 1, your subscription will end and you won't be charged again. However, if you cancel a trial subscription, your access terminates immediately.