Call of Duty: Black Ops III

Quick hits and details for the first person shooter Call of Duty: Black Ops III

Call of Duty: Black Ops III Screenshot - Street Fight
Street Fight in Call of Duty: Black Ops III. © Activision

About Call of Duty: Black Ops III

Call of Duty: Black Ops III is the twelfth full release in the popular Call of Duty series of first person shooter games and has a sci-fi/near-future modern military theme. Developed by Treyarch and released on November 6, 2015, the game follows the Treyarch Black Ops storyline that began with Call of Duty: World at War. It is the direct sequel to Call of Duty: Black Ops II which was released in 2012. The full single-player and multiplayer portions of the game are available for the PC, Xbox One, and PlayStation 4 platforms. A limited multiplayer portion of the game was later ported to last gen consoles, PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360.

Quick Hits

  • Genre: Action, First Person Shooter
  • Theme: Sci-Fi, Modern Military
  • Rating: M for Mature
  • Game Modes: Multiplayer, Single Player
  • Time Needed to Beat: Approx 8.5hrs for 13 mission so the main single player story; Leisurely played about 14-16 hours; Add another 2 hours in both cases for the all the extras that can be found.

Storyline, Game Play & Features

Call of Duty: Black Ops III is set 40 years after the events of Call of Duty: Black Ops II in the year 2065. The world is in chaos to climate change and a host of new technologies that have driven nations to partake in covert operations by elite special forces as the primary military operations. Call of Duty: Black Ops III takes on a more sci-fi theme than in previous titles, robotics play a large part in the game with humanoid robots and cyborg soldiers that are part man and machine. The single player story mode for Call of Duty: Black Ops III contains 12 missions each having multiple objectives and tasks players will need to complete in order to be successful. In addition to the traditional single-player storyline, there is also a single player "Nightmares" mode that contains the same basic missions and environments as the main single player campaign but a virus has been unleashed upon a number of cities that turns people into zombies. In addition to zombies Nightmares also contains other supernatural and fantastical creatures and beings.

Improve Your Play with Razer DeathAdder Chroma Call of Duty Black Ops III Edition Gaming Mouse

The multiplayer game for Call of Duty: Black Ops III is similar to previous entries in the series but it does feature a number of new elements including non-new character classes called Specialists. These nine Specialists include Battery, Firebreak, Nomad, Outrider, Prophet, Reaper, Ruin, Sereph, and Spectre, with each having a unique special ability or weapon. It also features all of the special Perks and Achievements that are found in other Call of Duty multiplayer games and supports characters rising up to 65 levels. Black Ops III contains 10 standard multiplayer modes including favorites such as Team Deathmatch, Hardpoint and Capture the Flag. The game also features Hardcore multiplayer modes that are six of the standard modes geared towards more advanced players. Finally, there are five bonus multiplayer modes that offer a unique gameplay and objective. At the time of its release, the Black Ops III base game featured thirteen multiplayer maps. That number has increased with each DLC release adding anywhere from three to five new multiplayer maps.

Black Ops III Zombies

The Call of Duty Zombies story arc started by Treyarch in Call of Duty World at War makes a return in Call of Duty: Black Ops III. The main game included one main map, Shadows of Evil where players are plopped down in Morg City where they fight off an endless onslaught of zombies. This map introduces four new characters to the Zombies storyline. The main storyline for the Black Ops III zombies mode though is told through The Giant map/campaign. This brings back the four original Zombies characters and takes players into the secret facility where the zombie outbreak began. At the time of release, The Giant was only available in the Collector's Edition and those who purchased the Black Ops III Season Pass. Each DLC released for Call of Duty Black Ops III usually include new Zombies map as well, more details on those can be found below under the DLC section.

In addition to the more traditional Zombies maps and game modes, Black Ops III also includes Dead Ops II Arcade which is a mini-game found within the main game. It is a classic, arcade style top down action shooter and the sequel to the hidden mini-game found in Black Ops II, Dead Ops Arcade.

Call of Duty Black Ops III System Requirements

Spec Requirement
Operating System Windows 7 64-Bit / Windows 8 64-Bit / Windows 8.1 64-Bit
CPU Intel Core i3-530 2.93 GHz or AMD Phenom™ II X4 810 2.60 GHz
Graphics Card Nvidia GeForce GTX 470 or AMD Radeon HD 6970
Graphics Card Memory 1 GB
Memory 6 GB RAM
Disk Space 2 GB of free HDD space
DirectX Version DirectX 11
Sound Card DirectX compatible sound card

Expansions & DLCs

Call of Duty: Black Ops III - Awakening is the first DLC that has been released for Call of Duty: Black Ops III, it was first released for the PlayStation 4 in February 2016 and then Xbox One and PC in March 2016. It features four new multiplayer maps; Gauntlet, Rise, Skyjacked, and Splash. Skyjacked is a re-imagining Hijacked which was a popular Black Ops II multiplayer map. In addition to the competitive multiplayer maps, the Awakening DLC also introduces a new Zombies multiplayer map called Der Eisendrache and takes characters on a mission to put an end to the zombie apocalypse.

Call of Duty: Black Ops III - Eclipse is the second DLC for Black Ops III which is scheduled for release for the PlayStation 4 on April 19, 2016. It will feature four new competitive multiplayer maps as well as a new Zombies map called Zetsubou No Shima. It will be out for the Xbox One and PC approximately one month after the PS4 release.

Call of Duty: Black Ops III - Descent is the third DLC to be released for Call of Duty Black Ops III. Much like previous DLCs, it includes four all new multiplayer maps and one new Zombies map. The new Zombies map titled Gorod Krovi, players are sent into an alternative history Stalingrad and a battlefield that saw a fight between mechanized soldiers and dragons which lead to their most deadly encounter yet.

The new standard multiplayer maps in the Descent DLC include Berserk, set in an ancient Viking village frozen in time; Cryogen - located off the coast of the Dead Sea; Raid which is a re-release of the popular Call of Duty Black Ops II map and Rumble an arena based map that has players face off against mechanized soldiers. The Descent DLC was released on July 12th for the PlayStation 4 and is planned for Xbox One and PC for August.