How to Block Twitter Followers

Unfollow, Hide and Stop All Communication With Someone on Twitter

Twitter Blocks Antisocial Behavior
Eric Schwartzman/Flikr/CC BY 2.0

When someone follows you on Twitter, two things happen: that person appears in your list of Followers on your Twitter profile and you appear on that person's list of people he or she is following. This is great for people wanting to connect but not so wonderful when a spammer follows you.

Blocking someone on Twitter makes it so they can no longer message you or follow you, find your Tweets in search results, send you direct messages, tag you in photos, add your profile to a list, view your Moments or see your likes or followers.

You'll also quit seeing notifications from them.

Keep in mind, however, that even if you block a user from seeing your posts, if your Twitter account is publicly accessible and they're not logged in to the account you've blocked, they still might be able to see your profile.

You can read more about Twitter blocking on Twitter's website.

How to Block Someone on Twitter

There are two ways to block Twitter profiles through the website:

From Their Profile

  1. Access the user's Twitter page. You can find them through your Followers page.
  2. Next to the Follow button is a small menu button (the one with three vertically stacked dots). Click it to open a sub-menu with other options.
  3. Choose Block @<user>, where "<user>" is the handle/username of the user you want to block.
  4. Click Block on the confirmation message.

From a Tweet

  1. Find a Tweet that belongs to the user you want to block.
  2. Click the small More down arrow next to the Tweet.
  1. Select Block @<user>.
  2. Click the Block button to confirm.

How to Unblock Someone on Twitter

You know if you've blocked someone on Twitter when you access their profile and it says that they've been blocked. You can still see their Tweets if you want, by clicking Yes, view profile.

Unblocking a Twitter user requires you to access the page and hover your mouse over the button titled Blocked, and click Unblock.

Doing so does not immediately follow them again but you do then have the choice to follow them like you would any other user, by clicking Follow.