How to Block Someone on Snapchat

Tired of a friend's stories and snaps? Take a break!

What to Know

  • In the app, go to Conversations > user to block > Menu > Block > Block.
  • To use Do Not Disturb instead, go to Chat > Menu > Do Not Disturb.

This article explains how to block a user on Snapchat for iOS or Android, what happens when you do, and alternatives to blocking someone.

How to Block a User on Snapchat

You can block someone on Snapchat in five simple steps.

  1. Open the Snapchat app, and either find the user you want to block by navigating to your conversations tab (marked by the speech bubble icon at the bottom) or tapping the search function at the top (marked by the magnifying glass icon at the top). Then, enter their name in a search.

  2. Tap the user to open a chat with them.

  3. Tap the menu icon in the upper-left corner of the chat tab.

  4. Tap Block from the list of menu options that appear.

    Snapchat app showing how to block a user.
  5. Confirm that you want to block the user by tapping the Block button on the confirmation box.

What Happens When You Block Someone on Snapchat?

When you block a user on Snapchat, you prevent that user from reaching or finding you. To them, your Snapchat activity and account don't exist.

A blocked user can't do any of the following:

  • Send you photo or video snaps.
  • Start a chat with you.
  • View your stories.
  • Find your account if they search for you.

If You Block Someone on Snapchat, Will They Know?

Snapchat doesn't send a notification to a user you blocked. However, that user might suspect on their own that they've been blocked by noticing that your activity and account have disappeared.

The only way a user can confirm that you blocked them is by using another unblocked Snapchat account to search for and find your account.

Alternatives to Blocking Users on Snapchat

Blocking is the most extreme method of limiting contact with another user. Still, there are other less restrictive methods you can use.

Use the Do Not Disturb Feature

This is the least restrictive alternative method to blocking, which silences all notifications from friends or groups. When you turn on the Do Not Disturb option for a friend, they can still send you snaps and chats. You just won't be bothered by a notification every time they do.

This is a great alternative to turning off app notifications when you want to stay friends with users while keeping notifications on for specific friends and groups.

You can find the Do Not Disturb option by tapping on a friend to open a chat, tapping the menu icon, and tapping Do Not Disturb from the menu list.

Turning Snapchat's Do Not Disturb option on for a user

Delete a User from Your Friends List

Deleting a user removes them as a friend, so you're not connected to them anymore. They can still see your account and view the public stories you post. They might even be able to send you snaps and chats, depending on your privacy settings.

Deleting a user is ideal if you want to contact and share private stories with friends while remaining open to sharing public content with non-friends.

To delete a user from your friends, tap on a friend to open a chat. Then, tap the menu icon and tap Remove Friend from the menu list.

Deleting a friend from Snapchat

Change Your Privacy Settings So Only Friends Can Contact You

If a user who is not your friend sends you snaps, tries to chat with you, or views your stories that you don't want them to see, change your privacy settings so that they can't contact you. This alternative goes hand in hand with deleting users from your friends list.

Snapchat lets you choose whether you want everyone (friends and non-friends) or only friends to contact you and see your stories.

  1. To change these settings, tap your profile icon in the upper-left corner of the app.

  2. Tap the gear icon to access your settings, and scroll down to the Who Can section.

  3. Tap Contact Me and select My Friends so that only your friends can send you snaps or chats.

    Accessing user settings on Snapchat
  4. Go back, tap View My Story, and select My Friends. Alternatively, tap Custom to create a custom privacy filter so that certain friends can't see your stories.

Was this page helpful?