How to Block Someone on LinkedIn

How to unblock them, as well

What to Know

  • Block: Open a profile, select More, and choose Report/Block.
  • Unblock: Go to Me > Settings & Privacy > Visibility > Blocking.
  • Blocking and unblocking people works the same on desktop and mobile.

This article explains how to block and unblock someone on LinkedIn. The process of blocking or unblocking someone works the same way on a desktop browser as it does on Android and iOS apps.

How to Block Someone on LinkedIn

To block someone, you will have to view their profile. LinkedIn notifies the person whose profile you've viewed. However, LinkedIn does not pop notifications when another user blocks you, so anybody you block won't know you've blocked them.

  1. Open LinkedIn, and navigate to the profile of the person you'd like to block.

    The profile page of someone on LinkedIn.
  2. Select the More... button, and choose Report/Block from the list.

    LinkedIn account with Report Block highlighted
  3. LinkedIn will prompt you, asking if you'd like to Block [member name]. Select Block to block the selected user.

    LinkedIn report/block options with Block highlighted
  4. If you change your mind, don't worry, reversing a block is just as simple.

How to Unblock Someone on LinkedIn

Unblocking someone on LinkedIn takes a few seconds, and it works the same across LinkedIn on desktop and mobile.

  1. Open up your profile settings by selecting the Me icon.

  2. Navigate to Settings & Privacy.

    LinkedIn profile settings with Settings and Privacy highlighted
  3. In the Visibility section, select the Visibility of your LinkedIn activity option.

  4. Select Blocking and then Change.

    LinkedIn visibility settings with Blocking and Change highlighted
  5. From here, you can see the list of members you've blocked. Find the person's name you want to unblock, and select Unblock next to their name.

Blocking, Unfollowing, and Unconnecting on LinkedIn

While blocking people may be necessary from time to time, most of the interactions you'll have with other members come in the form of content popping up in your feed, be it from a person, a company, or simply some page.

You can click the three-dot icon next to any post in your feed and unfollow that particular person or page. Then you won't see that content in your feed again, so it'll be easy to ignore.

Lastly, do keep in mind that a lot of the actual communication on LinkedIn depends on being a connection with someone. Sometimes, a block may not be necessary, and you can remove someone as a connection of yours to remove them from your LinkedIn life.

FAQ
  • How do I block someone on LinkedIn without them knowing?

    To block someone more anonymously, log in to LinkedIn and navigate to your profile page. From the top bar, select Me and choose Settings and Privacy. Select the Privacy tab and go to How others see your LinkedIn activity. Go to Profile Viewing Options > Change and choose Anonymous LinkedIn member. Now, go to the profile of the person you want to block and select More > Report/Block > Block.

  • What happens when you block someone on LinkedIn?

    When you block someone on LinkedIn, you won't be able to see each other's profiles or message each other on LinkedIn. You also won't be able to see each other's shared content on LinkedIn or see each other under Who's Viewed Your Profile? You won't hear about each other's upcoming LinkedIn upcoming events, and you also won't see any endorsements or recommendations from the person you blocked.

  • How do I block anonymous viewers on LinkedIn?

    You can't block viewers who are in private mode or force them to reveal their names, even if you have a Premium account. This is because some viewers, such as job recruiters, browse in private mode to find potential job candidates.

Was this page helpful?