How to See Who Blocked You on Instagram

Find out for sure if someone has blocked you on Instagram

What to Know

  • Instagram does not send any notifications when an account is blocked.
  • Getting blocked from an account is different from an Instagram profile set to private.
  • A simple search is a better alternative to third-party apps to tell if someone has blocked you on Instagram.

Check for these telltale clues before you dive into the other methods to make certain you have been blocked.

How to Know If Someone Blocked You on Instagram

What happens when someone blocks you on Instagram? Actually, nothing. Instagram doesn't send out a notification to tell you that you have been blocked. You will never know when someone blocks you unless you go looking for them later and realize that you can't access their profile.

  • Someone's account activity has dropped and you haven't spotted their shares or stories on your feed or received direct messages from them for some time.
  • Go to the Search bar. Enter the person’s Instagram account handle. If you can’t find the account, it can hint that they have blocked you or deleted their account.

When doubts continue to nag you, use a few more methods to ascertain if you have been blocked or it's just a mistake on your part.

  1. Use an old comment or a DM to reach their profile. If their profile shows up but also displays a User not found message along with a No Posts Yet message on the photo grid, it indicates that the person has blocked you.

    This only works if they have exchanged messages with you. If they haven't, then use the next steps on this list.

    Instagram User Not Found message on Instagram.
  2. Visit their Instagram profile on the web. Launch any mobile or desktop browser and enter www.instagram.com/(username). If can see their profile on the browser but not on the app, it means you have been blocked. If you cannot see the profile via Instagram on the web, the person could have deleted their account.

  3. Follow them. Go to Instagram on the web and open their profile page in the browser. Check if they have blocked you by tapping the blue follow button. If they have blocked you, the button won't work and Instagram might indicate a problem with a message.

    Instagram message when user is blocked
  4. Look for likes and comments on groups and other accounts they follow. This indicates that the user hasn't deleted their account, but has only blocked you.

Note:

When someone blocks you, they also cannot see your profile on Instagram. You do not need to block them in return if you don't want to. There is little you can do when you get blocked.

Was this page helpful?