802.11n Wi-Fi in Computer Networking

Each networking standard is faster than the one before it

WiFi logo
WiFi Alliance

802.11n is an IEEE industry standard for Wi-Fi wireless local network communications, ratified in 2009. Although 802.11n was designed to replace the older 802.11a, 802.11b, and 802.11g Wi-Fi technologies, it has since been superseded by the 802.11ac standard. Each standard is faster and more reliable than the one that came before it.

The packaging of any Wi-Fi device you purchase will reflect which of these standards the device supports.

Key Wireless Technologies in 802.11n

802.11n uses multiple wireless antennas in tandem to transmit and receive data. The associated term MIMO (Multiple Input, Multiple Output) refers to the ability of 802.11n and similar technologies to coordinate multiple simultaneous radio signals. 802.11n supports up to four simultaneous streams. MIMO increases both the range and throughput of a wireless network.

An additional technique employed by 802.11n involves increasing the channel bandwidth. As in 802.11a/b/g networking, each 802.11n device uses a preset Wi-Fi channel on which to transmit. The 802.11n standard uses a larger frequency range than the earlier standards, which increases data throughput.

802.11n Performance

802.11n connections support maximum theoretical network bandwidth up to 300 Mbps depending primarily on the number of wireless radios incorporated in the devices. 802.11n devices operate in both the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands.

802.11n vs. Pre-n Network Equipment

In the last few years before 802.11n was officially ratified, network equipment manufacturers sold so-called pre-N or draft N devices based on preliminary drafts of the standard. This hardware is generally compatible with current 802.11n gear, although firmware upgrades to these older devices may be required.

The Successor to 802.11n

802.11n served as the fastest Wi-Fi standard for five years before the 802.11ac protocol was approved in 2014. 802.11ac offers speeds ranging from 433 Mbps up to several gigabits per second, which approaches the speed and performance of wired connections. It functions entirely in the 5 MHz band and supports up to eight simultaneous streams.